The Bibliographic Instruction Special Interest Group (SIG) is composed of individuals interested in various aspects of library instruction. Meetings throughout the year cover a wide range of instruction topics and offer important opportunities for networking and information sharing. The SIG also provides professional development opportunities through group discussion, and presentations by group members, vendors and others. Topics targeted for future meetings include instruction for targeted groups, distance learning and bibliographic instruction, developing assessment tools, and planning for the future needs of bibliographic instruction.
Upcoming SIG Meeting
Trick or Tool?
Tuesday October 27, 2015
10:00 am to Noon
A classic take on the old Halloween query. Do you have a great library instruction-related tip, trick, or tool to share? Maybe a neat activity plan, an icebreaker, a go-to resource, or a web application that really comes in handy. Need to fill out your own toolbox?
Join the METRO Bibliographic Instruction SIG for a series of 10-minute, 5-slide plus quick Q&A presentations. If you’ve got something cool to share, contact email@example.com by Friday 10/16.
The BI SIG typically meets 3-4 times a year and is open to all. Discussion topics have included: active learning techniques, assessment, new technologies in instruction, database demonstrations, and much more. If you are interested in attending watch this space for announcements or join our mailing list. If you are interested in presenting at the BISIG please contact the convenors.
Wednesday, Nov 9, 2011: Reaching and Teaching Graduated StudentsScott Collard, Social Sciences Collections Coordinator and Librarian for Education and Linguistics at New York University’s Bobst Library, gave a presentation about graduate student services at NYU.
Wednesday, Mar 21, 2012: Engaging the Student: Classroom Management and Active LearningProfessor Elaine Maldonado, FIT Center for Exellence in Teaching; Jennifer Yao, The New School Gimbel Library; Darcy Gervasio, Purchase College Library; Frederick Lopez, St. Francis College Library
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012: Collaborative Efforts Between Library Sectors in the Area of InstructinEamon Tewell of Sarah Lawrence and Kate Angell, LIU Brooklyn (formerly Sarah Lawrence) discussed the partnership between the Sara Lawrence Library and the Yonkers Public Library through which information literacy instruction was provided to Yonkers High s
Wednesday, Nov 6, 2013 to Wednesday, Nov 6, 2013: Lesson Plan LabGot a great activity idea for library instruction? Want to get it "on its feet" and gather feedback from other teaching librarians? Or are you simply interested in learning more about how your Bibliographic Instruction SIG colleagues are approaching lesso
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014: Mid-Semester Debrief: A joint meeting of the BI and HS2C SIGsThe start of the semester is coming to a close - so join us for a joint meeting of the Bibliographic Instruction and High School to College Transition SIGs where we will discuss how it went, what helped you get through it, and strategies for next time. Co
Thursday, Mar 5, 2015: Joint Meeting of Bibliographic Instruction & Reference SIGsPlease join us for a joint meeting of the Instruction and Reference SIGs at METRO on Thursday, March 5, from 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm. We will be participating in structured, small-group discussions on various topics related to data reference and teaching with (
Tuesday, Oct 27, 2015: Trick or Tool?A classic take on the old Halloween query. Do you have a great library instruction-related tip, trick, or tool to share? Maybe a neat activity plan, an icebreaker, a go-to resource, or a web application that really comes in handy. Need to fill out your ow